Break up to Make up (with yourself)

Today’s post is inspired by my new Nikes (cue angels singing):  

I want to tell everyone a little background on myself. I first started running a few years back after I was cliche-ly dumped by the worst human ever. I never thought I would survive (mostly because I was 21 and didn’t know if I could survive even minuscule adversity). My friend told me to start running just to put all my heart and soul into something healthy instead of crying all day (which is definitely what I was doing). Now here I am 5 years later and once again freshly single. Only there’s a difference, and this is what I want my rant to be today. Don’t ever measure the success of yourself on whether or not you’re in a relationship. 

I hear this all the time (especially from women). They’ve got a great job, great friends, great family but they are depressed because they’re single. I get it because up until ohhhh about 3 weeks ago I believed this as well, which is why I spent the last year being unhappy in a relationship. I told myself “it’s not the best, but it’s better than being single”. I put up with so much and changed my own values so much to stay with this person. Why? Because people in relationships THINK they are happier. We are culturally wired to want companionship and that is not a bad thing!! Unless you’re compromising what you want for what you think you “need”. 

So why the Nikes? They are my “Congrats on being brave enough to walk away” present to myself. Be good to YOU. Be your own best friend! Be the one that makes YOU happiest. No one else can be totally responsible for your happiness other than YOU. If you’re out there realizing you have to do a little reality check on your life don’t worry- you’re not alone! Look around you. You’re surrounded by amazing people and resources. Look at all the support you have, look at your potential. You are not alone. We have all been through it. Now slip on your Nikes, Brooks, Asics, etc (no Crocs please) and begin your journey on the road to happiness! 

About meenazia

Personal Trainer, Sports Nutritionist, Former Marathoner, Food Lover, Amateur Yogi. Allow me to transform you.

Leave a comment